Weaving Masters

This area of Latin America (southern Mexico and Guatemala) is famous for textile production, weaving in particular. Two years ago I attended a fiber arts tour that included the town of Xochistlahuaca, in the state of Guerrero to the northwest of Oaxaca. The women there are well known for their weaving of extremely fine cotton, which is all done on backstrap looms. Eight of us spent several hours visiting a women's co-op where the artisans explained and demonstrated their process, answered our questions, and gave us the opportunity to buy their gorgeous products.

One woman had a hand-bag that was especially well decorated, but it was her personal bag. All of us wanted to buy it, so she agreed to sell it for 300 pesos (about $25). We wrote our names on pieces of paper, put them in the bag, and she drew one out. The winner got to buy the bag! (not me ):

This week in Oaxaca there have been many sales of art work done in villages of the region, and the ladies of Xochistlahuaca were there. I recognized the two women, and one of them was the artist (on the left) who had made the precious bag.
I knew they would not remember me, but as soon as I mentioned the story of the bag sale, her face broke into a great smile, and I received a giant hug!

I purchased a few of their wonderful textiles, but nothing will be as special as the bag and the hug.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.