Just the Tortoise this Year

The title only really makes sense if you look back to last year's 26 December blip!

Immy and I (Chris) were due to be running the Aylesbury Boxing Day 5km this morning. Immy has been nursing a cold for a good few days so sensibly decided this morning that staying in bed rather than being up for a chilly run at 9.45am was the thing to do. Annie and step mum (Anne) came to cheer me on (and for Annie to take photos of course) which was good of them. It was a great turnout from our club making the event quite a social one too. The good news was a run nearly 2 minutes quicker for me than last year. I've done a few 5km runs this year and I am still improving so it is nice to make progress. Interesting as well that despite the fact that I looked reasonably sprightly in last years photo (well at least my feet did!), that was on the first lap around the town. This year's photo was on lap two and I'm still looking OK (and smiling for the camera of course).

The rest of the day has been a continuing story of largely excess consumption of food at my parents with another lovely dinner. Some sense of normality has to return tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.