PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Mum and Dad

I know I've been blipping these red-tail black cockatoo's an awful lot lately but I just can't help it! Today Mum, Dad and Bub hung out in full view in the neighbours tree for almost two hours :). You can clearly see the differences between male and female in this shot. The female is lower down with the spotty head feathers and white bill. The male is behind her and is solid black with a dark/black bill. He has beautiful solid red markings on his tail which I was trying to capture but he wasn't willing to show off and be in the same shot as his partner!

Did you know..... cockatoo's and most parrots are left footed? You can see both here using their left feet to pick up the cape lilac nuts!

I had quite a relaxing Boxing day off. K has put up the hammock so much time was spent with my feet up! Little water rat pup is doing well and tomorrow I will hand her over to the Australian mammals section to continue on with her hand rearing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.