Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The blue mountains

After the non stop snow yesterday, today was a beautiful sunny day with cloudless blue skies. I am always amazed at how quickly the weather can change in the mountains.

We had a late start to the day and therefore faced horrible queues going up the mountain to ski. I hate queues! I would quite happily have forgone the skiing but as it was such a beautiful day we decided to go grin and bear it and go up the mountain. It seemed as if every man and his dog family had the same idea, taking advantage of the glorious weather. It wasn't all bad - I met two very interesting people in the queue and have exchanged numbers with one of them to meet up later in the week.

The sky was so blue that my photos all looked unnaturally blue - it was almost as if I had a very strong polarising filter on the lens, and I had to adjust the colour and exposures in Camera Raw when I got back home. This image was the one that was the least blue - I liked the line made by the ski gondolas as they passed by.

The snow conditions were good although after all that snow yesterday there was rather a lot of loose snow on the pistes and so moguls had formed from all the skiers coming down the slopes - not easy skiing, so I was rather glad to get back down the mountain and enjoy a delicious café crème at a favourite coffee shop.

Luke is now studying, Adam has gone for drinks to celebrate a friend's 17th birthday, Thomas is watching TV and Gavin is making supper! An evening of TV beckons....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.