0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"Where do you take your fashion influences from?"
“Myself"


I feel sorry for my subjects sometimes. Once I see potential in a street portrait I am like a dog with a bone.

I knew I had to get Frances’ picture as soon as I saw him. He agreed straight away (once I had managed to get through to him over his headphones), but the problem was that Frances was stood at a bus stop and I hate distracting, cluttered backgrounds so I asked him to accompany me to the central isle in the road.

He was increasingly hesitant, claiming embarrassment and that his bus was here (Incidentally, his bus did turn up but he missed it as I was taking his picture!)

After a while of trying to persuade him, I enlisted the help of a fellow girl passenger at the bus stop who was listening and seeing everything going on. With both of us applying pressure, Frances eventually crumbled and followed me across the road.

After the shoot I apologised for being so obstinate, and applauded him for getting over his uneasiness. I showed him the difference between the pictures at the bus stop and those in the road. He seemed to understand what I was after but was probably thinking how he could escape from this crazy photographer!

Frances works in fashion retail, and uses his own awareness and visual sense to style himself.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.