LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Charlie...

Introducing Charlie!

You'd be forgiven for not believing he's less than three hours he could actually be three months old in this photo... at a whopping 9lbs 12 he arrived by c section... 52 hours after labour began. Personally I'd be casting that up for at least as long as my Sarah has been casting up her 42 hour labour with Jam! He's the most adorable little boy I've ever seen and I bet he sleeps all night long!

Jaime is the most amazing girl who just gets on with whatever life throws at her. She's been so calm throughout the whole labour process, kept her sense of humour and didn't complain once. I'm pretty sure she's going to tackle Motherhood in exactly the same way. She has longed for Charlie almost as long as Sarah has! for a long time. She just wanted to be a Mum and she's going to be fabulous at it.

Jaime has cerebral palsy which makes her mobility a factor as well as her ability to have an epidural so she had a general anaesthetic for her section. When she eventually came back to the room after a very tense hour (of not very much information) and Tom being whisked off to theatre, she was in recovery and obviously knackered after cooking such a beautiful, healthy, soft, delicious little bundle of utter joy so she slept while we cried and laughed and shared some lovely moments.

I was there when Dad had his first cuddle with his brand new son. I watched that tender moment when Tom kissed his child for the first time. I got to see my Sarah hold her grandson for the first time as she introduced herself as MeeMaw and I had a cuddle too. (He's a giant!) We're picking Aunty Em who's beyond excited up at the station in a while so we'll head back to the hospital when she gets here if she doesn't spontaneously combust on the train. The love this little boy has surrounding him is overwhelming.

I didn't want for Jaime to miss all of those moments so I took about 80 photos in that little spell of time that I'll never forget so that she was able to share them too. To have been privileged enough to share all of this with Jaime and Tom and my Sarah has just been amazing. To witness new life and new love that huge was just such a special pleasure, thank you for letting me be a part of it. I love you all lots.

Welcome to the world Charlie Thomas Tomkins... you're adorable beyond words. It's a very Merry Christmas indeed! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.