Boxing Day...

Well Boxing Day has come and gone and still no sign of Charlie. It's 5.27am on the 27th and still he's being stubborn. I've come home from the hospital to grab a couple of hours sleep. Sarah has barely slept and I think Tom and Jaime will be lucky to have had a couple of hours between them. I stayed at home when they went back early this morning, I figured I'd be more use in the house with cakes to bake and the turkey to roast.

We got sent home from the hospital at 3am so I managed a few hours kip, did all the chores then went back up there just as they were being transferred up to the labour ward from the birth centre. Jam's blood pressure was too high so they wanted her monitored. She was 5cm at lunchtime and she's now at 7cm. 48 hours of labour and I've only heard her say 'fuck' once! For just a wee thing she's done ever so well with the pain, we're all super proud of her.

I didn't expect to be in beside them but I suspect she's beyond caring who sees what and I'm almost family. It's so exciting to hear the baby's heartbeat banging away as strong as you like. I've never heard that in real life before. It's been like an episode of One Born Every Minute... including the 4am trip to MacDonalds! However, they broke her waters a few hours ago and we're still hanging on. I've left my Sarah curled up on the floor catching some z's and I've come home to crawl into her bed... I'm the best friend ever! Haha!

This is Jam at about half ten in the evening being examined while sucking on the gas and air. I'm exhausted but it seems churlish to complain given everyone else's serious lack of sleep.

Just had an early morning text from Nix to say she's in labour and they're at the hospital. Matching birthdays?!

Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.