Day Today

By Feathers14

Santa Pause

Merry Christmas, Blip!

And just appreciate the fleeting moment for which this un-godly sunset exists. The best camera is the one you have on you and my iPhone was in my hands as I saw the sky's colours. The actual sun was around the corner and out of sight but when I rounded the corner then bloody hell I wasn't disappointed.

A very different Christmas, this year:

I spoke to Mum, Dad and other family in the UK very briefly in the morning, which was awesome. Really good to hear everyone and wish them a proper merry Christmas.

We all woke up nice and early and Libby's family tradition is to have bailey's and coffee in the morning so we started off the day like that. Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and toasting, we then sat round the table on the balcony and did presents which was lovely; then smoked salmon and eggs were rustled up as that's Kris's family tradition. The whole thing was incredibly surreal. Loved it - 6 of us in total so every meal is a big communal family one.

We strolled down the beach to The Half Shell for cocktails and then meandered back. In the evening we went out for Christmas dinner at Roy and Mandy's. Turkey with all the trimmings. Spectacular stuff.

A great day despite it feeling odd not being with the usual crowd.

Peace

----------

Obviously the lighting, colours and tones were sorted all out for me via nature so I had to really focus on composing this one. I tried to balance out the sun with the rock in the foreground. The wide angle of the iPhone lens and the rock in the mid ground give quite a nice sense of depth I think but I'm unhappy with the palm trees on the left poking out of shot. Ruins the continuity of the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.