rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

Loch Lomond Lies

Loch Lomond: the biggest by area and possible best of all Scotland's lochs. It's beautiful and just so happens to have the A82 follow its west side. If you want to explore the west coast of Scotland north of Glasgow, you have to go via Loch Lomond. Even if you had another way, why miss this?

Of course, my photograph doesn't do it justice, but I wanted to feature in one of my four Scotland photographs and this is the best of my many attempts to take this sort of shot. I'm not sure who the peak in the distance is. I'd need to borrow Daniel's maps, really, but I think I was near Inverbeg looking south-southeast.

I like the water and the grass and the sky in this shot. There's also something sad about the fence. Obviously it's there for a reason, but it does remind that the loch isn't all fun and games. A lot of Scotland's most exemplary natural beauty is quite remarkably dangerous. Of course, coming off any road at 60mph is dangerous, but driving into Scotland's second most massive loch is possibly worse still. Besides, nobody wants to fill the loch with bad drivers.

Goodbye for now, Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.