CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

The Story

It was 1999 and my Mom had tickets to the Lion King on Broadway. My step-dad didn't want to go and I was next on the list. The deal I made was that if she bought the plane tickets I would take care of the lodging. To be perfectly honest, we both made out like bandits. We stayed with my sister-in-law and Mom found a 50$ each way companion flight for me. From Portland, Oregon to NYC? What could be bad. we went for 5 days and I was all set but I needed a pair of strappy black shoes to go with my dress. We went all over Manhattan. from Macy's and Saks (the one ON 5th Avenue) to random little stores we happened to pass by. Mom found half a dozen pairs of shoes at "can't get the money out of your wallet fast enough" prices and I found bupkis. Nada. Nuthin'. Finally, after looking for 3 days and with the tickets being for the next night, we stopped into a little dress shop that had a tinier shoe store in a basement in Queens, about 6 blocks from my in-law's Brownstone. Have had them ever since. they are comfortable, wear like iron and cost less than 2 hours wages. That is Mom in the photo. We were in a wine bar that is open in the summer months in a statue garden at the top of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The view is of Central Park.

The frame I found a couple of years later. It isn't a reflection of how I feel about Mom except that pigs are considered lucky if you are a Dane. I suppose that idea comes from-If you are lucky enough to have a pig to slaughter in the Fall then you will eat all Winter. More so if you have another to breed in the spring so you can eat next winter, too. Marzipan pigs are given to people at Christmas and the New Year as a wish for them of luck and prosperity. She would love the pig and would get it without explanation from me.

Why this Blip today? I went to the movies and spent 6 hours. By the time I got out it was dark. Inside it is warm, dry and light and I could make up this charming still-life with a story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.