Redundant

Canterbury's festive wet weather continues, so today's blip has a bit of an irrigation theme (natural and human-assisted). The irrigators aren't needed for the finishing farm at the bottom of the valley, so they stand idle whilst the sheep munch on naturally watered paddocks.

We've had over 80mm of rain (according to our rain gauge) in the course of the last week - I think it's possibly the wettest of my fifteen Christmases since moving to Aotearoa. It does however mean that outside activities are somewhat curtailed, which is a double edged sword when you have a lifestyle block/smallholding; not much is getting done on the property, but you're guaranteed a rest sitting on a couch in the warm and the dry.

I'm hoping the rain holds off tomorrow though as I have a mini road-trip to Timaru by Harley Davidson planned; when Mrs H's uncle left yesterday in the van with the family, he left his bike for me to ride down for him. It's been three and a half years since I sold my Honda, so I'm looking forward to throwing a leg over a motorcycle once more.

I might get the wet weather gear out though, just in case...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.