MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Mr Benn Says, "No Go." :(

I decided to stop off for a walk along the the River Blackwater seawall at Stansgate, on the way to Tillingham to visit my mother in the care home.

It wasn't long before before I encountered a stile and a worn notice about trespass. I ignored it. I have no desire to trespass in somebody's garden but I think I have the right to walk the seawall. As can be seen from my picture I wasn't able to proceed further. A structure has been built actually on the seawall, bearing a notice saying "PRIVATE GARDEN". It directs walkers on a long inland detour, or suggests that they walk on the beach. Luckily the tide was out so I was able to take to the beach.

The family home of Tony Benn, the former Antony Wedgewood Benn, 2nd Viscount Stansgate and Labour politician came into view, protected by an extremely steep, impenetrable and well-maintained stretch of seawall. It has lovely views over the river and Osea Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.