louielouie

By louielouie

The University Cafe

I had my first & only ‘cheese beano’ in here in the 1970s. A truly unforgettable experience.

This old café, frequented by generations of students, taxi drivers, hospital visitors/staff & ‘Westenders’ is THE ‘go to venue’ for all your nutritional needs including its ‘signature dishes’ of macaroni cheese, ice cream, fish & chips and mince n tatties. I could go on…

Hard to believe that this Glasgow Institution is now 95 years young! Inside it’s an art deco masterpiece of formica and wooden alcoves that hasn’t changed in decades as far as I can see.

With the recent addition of tables and chairs on the pavement there is a small modern concession to continental ‘al fresco’ dining albeit there were no takers this evening (if you look at the top right you’ll get a sense of the driving rain & hail) as I passed by about 4pm.

Been busy today clearing leaves from gutters and playing with my chainsaw. I cut up lots of branches that had fallen in the recent storms. Very cathartic. Joe’s pal Sam is here for a sleepover now so I expect an evening of sleep deprivation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.