Startrails?

I've been watching 'The Hobbit' this afternoon. Not the one you've been watching. Mine's last year's 'Unexpected Journey'. I'm a bit behind but I'll catch up eventually.

The forecast said 'clear skies between 8 and 10' so I put the camera in the fridge while I had supper. The sky looked great when I went out so I slapped the camera on the tripod which I'd already lined up to the pole star. The camera's set up on 'Manual' and 'Bulb' so I hit the wired remote release and locked it on, went inside and set the kitchen timer for six minutes. I did that another ten times and then started the processing and stacking ... and it looked like crap! The 'clear sky' has clouds blowing across it showing up the local light pollution. Oh well, I've done a bit of masking of the worst of the clouds but it doesn't restore the stars.

Anyway, here it is, it's pretty rubbish but part of the learning curve and I've got a site all eyed up. I'll have another practice session before that though.

Hope your day's gone well

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.