Well Hello!

Worth enlarging.

Being a Sunday most shops in the main road outside the Old Walled City were closed. It meant that I could poke around through open doorways into beautiful courtyards and go down alleys that would be thronged on a weekday and photograph things in windows. You can't go much better than discovering the Maharajah’s personal collection of old motorcars, he keeps his Rolls at the Rambagh Palace but I found his Dodge, Chevrolet and the very first Packard air conditioned car and and and. I failed to photograph a dog galloping down the main street with a stolen chicken in his mouth but I did see some goats living on a roof over the shops, boys flying kites, lots of cows and water buffalo and in a yard next door to a wedding reception area there were larger than life statues of Hanuman the monkey god, an upturned fierce Durga on her lion and another strange female that hadn't had anything but her face painted. I went back to the old hotel that I used for years and found that the grassed area was being used tonight for a wedding reception for 1000 people. I shall have to go back but I took lots of pictures of the preparations at 11 this morning and again at 4.30 this evening. It starts at 8 so it depends on my energy. Years ago I saw three Maharajahs at the same venue all traditionally dressed with turbans, swords, necklaces, jewels and decorations. I wonder who will be there tonight.

P.S. Just been and there were no Maharajahs or even turbaned men - the women were in their finery though far too many photos here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.