The Vegetable Seller

Caught a local bus to a village, now a Jaipur suburb, of Sanganer, 10 miles south where I hoped to see block printing. But of course I got waylaid in the bazaar and had such fun sitting with jewellery makers where families were haggling over dowry pieces, bangle makers, vegetable sellers, material shops where families were buying wedding outfits, an aged farmer... everyone wanted their picture taken so I only finally found the block printing after walking for miles. Originally the only colours they had were black and red and a 'coke' colour which was a combination. The black was made from jaggery (raw sugar), a tree gum and old horse shoes! I printed a lion in 3 stages for myself but found the blue pottery making more interesting as all the designs were done freehand although the beautiful colours they were painting on were all going to change to blues when fired! In the monsoon time they cannot do block printing or pottery so to keep the workmen busy they make camel bone boxes and ornaments and paint them. Returning from my foray I found the house full of guests (I'm in a home stay) as the daughter had announced her engagement to a Dutchman. They were both dressed beautifully, he in a jewelled coat and she in a sari to die for. Their wedding will not be until 2015 as there will have to be so much planning and all their friends will come from Europe to be part of it.

more if you have the energy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.