serpent

By serpentine

'& finally, on the Goat Walk, we show our Hoodie'

Another few hours spent with the jeweller today and then a walk around the backsides of Jaipur where amongst lots of things I found the marble carving district, shops that sold just sugar in all sorts of shapes, colours and stages of refinement, cooking oil shops, hundreds of kite shops which have sprung up from nowhere and lots of sweet shops. I bought a mixed box from the latter for I am off to see a farm tomorrow where they are harvesting peanuts.

I've just been out on the hunt for a small bottle of rum to go with a large bottle of coke but everyone shook their head except for one old man who was lurking in a doorway - he ushered me into a darkened interior and rang for the lift. I refused to get in so he led me to some stairs that went up into a hotel. Up and up to the 4th floor where I was pointed into a dark room full of easy chairs and lots of men – at the end was a poorly lit bar so I had to negotiate the throng who all turned to watch my progress round the chairs to find they refused to serve me! Never mind – I raise my glass of coke to you all and wish you the very best for 2014 and lots of fun tonight.

Hunca Munca, Tom Thumb and others here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.