Rajasthani Bus Palace!

The planned trip to the farm never materialised so I walked the west side of a long road in the old walled city called Gangauri Bazaar starting off at a large roundabout called Chhoti Chaupar where I climbed onto the top of the shop roofs and looked down on the road for a while. There were two Krishna Temples and outside each were a pair of marble elephants at the top of the stairs from the road. The Temples had some beautiful if worn pictures of Krishna at various stages of his life.
The bazaar was one for locals, with several godowns in the once beautiful havelis (mansions of several stories around courtyards for extended family use). I watched bees feeding from a very sticky block of rich caramel coloured dates, a boy carving sugar from a very large and solid but still slightly moist lump of unrefined sugar, lots of near misses on the roads, a mobile shrine towing its own generator - it was on a car chassis with the driver's head poking out in front of the shrine. The man selling paneer (cow's milk cheese) proudly told me he sold 80 kilos of it a week in the marriage season but after it is over the milk is used for ice cream, making ghee and sweets. I went to the Government Emporium and Tribal Arts shop opposite Ajmeri Gate and found that the building was barely being used - I climbed 7 storeys of beautiful marble staircases which were covered in dust with only bird and dog prints in it with large display rooms at all four corners that were locked and empty – at the very top two windows could be opened with views over the city so I took photos from up there too.
In Nepal I lost a 32 year old crown when the tooth broke – tomorrow I have to have the broken bit out. Spent a while chasing around darkened streets looking for the place where I had to have an x-ray – so a few healing vibes sent at your breakfast time will be appreciated!
Havelis and more here The map shows the road I was in - not where the bus was

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.