Homeward bound...

Another crisp, frosty winter's day - a short calm interlude before the next patch of stormy weather arrives. This afternoon Pete and I went to Holme Fen on a wild shrike chase. A great grey-shrike has been seen regularly for the last seven weeks, and I thought that perhaps I should try and see it before it moves on.

Unfortunately this rare bird had attracted a lot of serious birdwatchers, equipped with telescopes and cameras with giant lenses, which rather put me off the idea of going into the hide. However, even from the path along the edge of Holme Fen we had good views of distant short-eared owls, and the highlight was watching an aerial battle involving two short-eared owls, a buzzard and a marsh harrier. Pretty special!

As dusk approached I realised that I hadn't taken any photographs. I think I was in the wrong frame of mind - and rather put out by our normally quiet piece of semi-wilderness being invaded. I snatched a shot as we walked back to the car, with the greylag geese flying back to their night-time roost sihouetted in the twilight. This was the best of the sunset - shortly after this the sun disappeared deep into the cloud-bank encroaching steadily along the western horizon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.