0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

I've been having some technical issues with my server for the past few days and I needed some more gadgetry to sort it out, so off to the electronics shop I went.

I picked up what I needed in town and had a quick walk round to spot any potential subjects. It was while I was walking past a coffee shop that I noticed Tony, sat in the outside area, enjoying his drink and a smoke.

I asked him for a portrait, asking him about his tattoos at the same time. He told me he owned a studio across the road and I could take pictures there after he'd had his break - I agreed to meet him there later on.

At the tattoo place later I chatted to Tony about his art. Tony is originally from Thailand, having spent several years practicing it there then moving to the UK to get married and setting up the place I was currently in - all in all he's been in the business for 17 years, a considerable amount of time I thought.

Tony was incredibly kind, giving me free reign in his shop, to photograph anything I liked. He even introduced me to his partner who was in the middle of tattooing a guy's chest, slightly awkward.

For the shoot, I asked him to carry on working while I took some photos around him. In all honesty I didn't have much room to work with my 50mm so I got a few portrait shots and asked Tony if I could visit again.

It was an interesting place and links in well with an idea I have for a potential project next year...


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.