Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Reflective Blip

A massive thank you to all of you out there who have contributed to the marvelous experience that is Blipfoto. I find it difficult to believe that another year has gone by, it seems like only last week that I was preparing for my 365th blip and already I have doubled that tally. In some ways this year has been easier as a ‘seasoned’ Blipper, that despite a temporary promotion at work which has placed additional pressure on my time. Perhaps it is the discipline of producing an image each day, which has placed some perspective on life and provided some balance when work may well have taken over completely. I recognize in other blippers how pressured their working day (and sometimes night) can be and perhaps my view on taking a photograph for blipping each day has some resonance.

Two years, 730 images posted, more like 50,000 taken in pursuit of an image worth sharing each day. What have I learnt?

• Blipfoto is much more than somewhere to publish my daily image each day.

• That the photographic community of Blip is kind, supportive, talented, inspiring and most of all, gets it.

• That my photography has developed under your influence and interest in my journal.

• That I devote much too much time to producing a daily image (most of the time), when I consider the other demands on my life.

I wanted to share some of my (and your) favourite images over the last two years. I have therefore completely re-populated my Blipfolio separating it out into some different areas of work I seem to “focus” on:

Early morning shots are a particular favourite of mine, summer or winter.

I seem to have a bit of a reputation as a tree person, so here are a few of those shots.

I’ve been really pleased by my improvement in black and white photography, though I put most of this down to Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro and the conversion of a Nikon J1 camera to infrared.

I’m also happy when I capture wildlife and macros. I’ve given Helicon Focus Stacking Software quite a bending from time to time.

I’ve also tried, and I make that claim lightly, to choose my and your favourite images. I’ve recognized that it takes some time for a person’s Blip rating to rise so that they are noticed by fellow Blippers so some of these bear little resemblance to my most favourited images.

So, what next?

I am conflicted in this respect. I find Blipfoto to be almost like an addicition. It is almost a physical hurt when I am struggling to produce an image for Blip. I feel that the pressure to produce an image can actually work against my creative drive. In the past I would take photographs every week to two weeks, producing a number of preferred images from any one session. It is almost as though once I have published my blip the drive to do more work on the image set is lost. Conversely, I recognize how the influence of blipping has helped me develop my style and technique.

I don’t currently have an answer. I am tempted to miss a day to ‘get the monkey of my back’. Perhaps a more considered approach publishing less frequently, though that could lead to a gradual withdrawal from the journal. I must admit to a sense of accomplishment (even euphoria) when an image is well received. The hearts and stars certainly do wonders for the ego! But I also recognize that if any part of my Blip experience has changed over recent months it is the time I have been able to dedicate to commenting on your wonderful images. Do I have any right to expect people to comment on my journal when I don’t reciprocate?

No answers at the moment, just see how it goes. I have a great holiday to look forward to in February visiting Yosemite National Park, as well as other parts of California, on a photographic tour lead by John Gravett. That will be a holiday in a lifetime and I want to share that with you all.

In the meantime may I wish you all a happy new year and a fervent wish that the coming year sees you in good health and brings you everything you hope and wish for.

Best wishes

Graham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.