Koala Magic

Another first for me this week. Today I saw my first ever koalas in the wild. Genuinely in the wild. Not in an animal park or anything but in the real Australian bush.

In fact there were dozens of them, but most of them were posed with their backsides to me, sleeping. One was cuddling a baby - but still with her rear-end to me. There was a mum and baby side by side on another branch - but you guessed it - arses to me again.

This chap was far more alert. I watched him/her climb the tree, stop for an arched back stretch, swizel a bag leg to get the muscles moving, and continue up the tree. He/she then posed perfectly for me. A special gift to me.

We took a drive along the Great Coast Road to Cape Otway Lighthouse. Some marvellous scenery along the way - I photographed beautiful beaches and cliffs, interesting rocks, pretty butterflies. But from the moment I first saw one my blip was always going to be a koala.

Thanks to Teacherlady and Pam for the trip - they knew there was a good chance we'd see koalas but managed to keep it a secret from me until we saw them.

Some other photos from today on my flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.