Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Why I'll never play guitar...

...or be able to count in finger binary.

The Boy stumbled across an article on finger binary. The ability to count up to 1023 on your hands, using the concepts of binary. As he tried to explain it to me, I came across a massive problem. I can't move my last 3 fingers independently of each other, most people have some independence but if I curl my pinky to touch my palm, the other three curl fully with it.

I always thought I struggled with guitar cords because my hands were too small but this would make far more sense. I probably wouldn't manage to play any stringed instrument for that matter (which is a shame as I'd love to one day learn the double bass or cello), I wonder whether it would effect keyed instuments like the clarinet, oboe, flute or saxaphone.

I'd love to survey musicians to see the extent of their finger independence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.