Mikey88

By Mikey88

Flood

Caught up at last!

After several storms over the last few weeks, this is a before and after shot of our local river. The top shot was taken on a beautiful day in spring, while the bottom shot was taken this morning after a pretty horrendous night of gales and a lot of rain

It doesn't get as high as this very often, and I've only seen it over the road once in the twenty five years we have lived down here. Shortly after we moved down, my wife and I and my mother and father-in-law were standing on the rocks you can see to the right of the bridge watching the river roaring through much as it is today. My father-in-law's feet suddenly slipped from under him and he began sliding down the rocks towards the water.

Fortunately, he stopped after only a yard or so, but for a horrible moment it looked as though he was going in - and I don't think he would have survived had he done so.

You just can't be too careful around flood water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.