A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Park or Ride

Who needs TV when you have views like this? Weekend nights in downtown Houston, Texas are far different from weekend nights in my rural neighborhood in the Midwest. We have horses. They bring in horses for the cops to ride (I'm not sure I get that, but I'm sure the Houston Police Department has thought it through). There is a place called Club Heat across the street that looks abandoned until about 11 p.m when all the salsa dancing wannabes line up down the street to get in. The DJ's can be heard for blocks until the club closes at 3 a.m. Quite a contrast from our quiet little life in rural America. Why can't they dance from 8 p.m. to midnight? ...I'm old, aren't I?

These cops and their horses are clearly bored to death. Cops feet dangle and swing back and forth, sans stirrups, while their horses doze with heads drooping and eyes closed. God forbid a salsa dancer might need rescuing.

I watched for hours from the 7th floor apartment window, while I unsuccessfully and impatiently waited for the Internet to upload my backblips - and saw very little action.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.