Angelique

By Angelique

"When You're Alone, ...You can always goDOWNTOWN"

What a day, started with torrential rain and gusting wind so we waited until 10.00am for the weather to ease, before setting off on our drive over to Fleet, Hampshire. 132 miles which took 2.5 hours. We caught the weather up and the last 40 miles were in some of the worst driving conditions I have ever experienced on a motorway.

We went to see Mr A's Mum who is fast approaching 89 but still extremely 'with it'. She enjoyed her presents and it was difficult to leave her but we still had to drive another 25 miles or so back towards Winchester, stopping off at Alresford where we used to live for lunch.

The above photo is of Winchester by the Guildhall. You can see the Christmas lights in the distance and I am standing on the plynth next to the King Alfred statue. I didn't think he'd mind sharing it with me just for once!!

Matthew hadn't seen Winchester for years and because he used to be at school here, he was really keen to see if it was the same. Nothing much has altered and he was reliving some happy memories.

Then on to visit Redflash and Mr F and of course not so little Murphy, who has grown since we saw him just 3 weeks ago! Two of the presents I have given today are the copies of my 2014 Blip Calendar and I am very pleased with the result. Fortunately Grandma and Mr F liked them too.

Pressie swapping was great fun and I hope to model one of my gifts very soon. Once again it was sad to say goodbye and we wont see them again until February when we're meeting up to drive to Wembly Arena to watch Dream Theater who will be on their world tour over from the States. We are all great DT fans and David and Kezia are coming too!!

Only 2 hours to drive home, but it was fast driving all the way with far less traffic. Hate night time driving but with the constant pain in my ear, just wanted to get home.

Now looking forward to going to bed after we have had a light soup supper and a few biscuits with cheese.

More pain killers and hoping for a good nights sleep. Thank you my loyal friends for keeping in touch. Sorry I haven't been much comfort recently:( I hope to be in better form for the start of 2014. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.