58° North Daily

By 58NorthPhoto

Happy Hogmanay

Well that's the end of another year. 2013 has been a real up and down year with some major high points but some really low points too; it's been tough going at times. However, I'm going to try and just reflect on the good things and not dwell on the rubbish bits (easier said than done for me!).

I started off on 1 January 2013 with the intention of doing a 365 project. I managed until August but I just couldn't keep it up (I had too much else to think about at that point). So instead of today being my 365th it's my 317th - only 48 days short! But that's OK, because I still take more photographs on more days than I ever did. I love blipping even though I don't do it everyday and I love all the community here on Blip, even though I don't comment as much as I'd like on other peoples journals.

Highlights of my year:

・Going on a holiday of a lifetime to Norway with my mum - aurora, dog sledding and scenery.
・Spending time with my lovely family.
Quitting a job that was making me miserable.
・Getting a new addition to the family and seeing him grow.
・Seeing my favourite band.
・Enjoying the short Hebridean summer.
Differing my photography from my norm.
Getting paid to do something I love.
・Seeing an amazing aurora display over my house.
・A holiday in the Czech Republic.
Edinburgh Christmas markets.
・A peaceful Christmas...
...and a happy New Year!

This was my most popular photograph of the year.

New Years resolutions? Well, just the usual for me. Try to be happier, worry less, relax and enjoy more and the rest will come.

The photograph is of some of the more seasonal trinkets that I've collected this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.