fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

On presents

When I was small, there wasn't much money knocking around amongst our family and friends, and I think this is why we used to be given a lot of sweets: 'proper' presents were limited to Christmas and birthdays. (This situation was much to the advantage of our local dentists as no visit to the drilling chamber was complete without a filling or two in those days.)

I can vividly remember the overwhelming excitement of Christmas morning when we would have both a stocking and a sackful of presents. The Christmas of 1974 was particularly notable, when I received an Action Man jeep and Wol, my brother, got a tank (also for Action Man. Not a real one.) As we got older and started to be given pocket money, so we could buy ourselves small toys but one still had to wait for Christmas or a birthday for something as significant as, say, a skateboard or a bike.

But as one gets older and has more money, so the emphasis of presents changes. By the time I went to university, my brother - still at school and with a Saturday job - had more disposable income than me but I could still bring him home a bucketload Christmas joy because of the access I had to David Bowie bootlegs via the chap who sold tapes in the student union.

It was during this period that I really started to enjoy present buying. I realised that the best presents are not the expensive ones but those that are imaginative and thoughtful, that give the recipient and real thrill. The presents that I like giving and, actually, receiving are not those that have a big price attached to them but those that show some thought. (Not that I think I'm particularly alone in that.)

I was really pleased with some of the presents I gave this year - the George Cole book for my dad; the box of Kev Cummins photos of the Smiths for my brother; the Instagram fridge magnets for the Minx - and I think these cufflinks are the present that I was most thrilled to receive.

When I lived at the previous cottage, there were two trees in the field behind the cottage that I particularly loved (and which featured on this blog several times). The Minx took a thin branch from one of the trees, cut two small disks from it, and commissioned these cufflinks. As you will have guessed, I'm absolutely delighted by them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.