fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Winding down

I love this time of year, the bit before new year's eve (which is when the whole "goodbye old/hello new" thing comes into sharp and shouty focus).

I like looking forward to next year, making plans and thinking about what might happen, while looking back over the current one. I like to dwell on the things that have happened, especially those that I could never have anticipated, and to think about how things went right and wrong. I like to think about the people I saw and those I didn't, and what I might do differently next year. I like the introspection.

I'm glad we have days of the week, and months of the year, and then the years themselves. I like that we have these opportunities for reflection.

I've found myself walking more these last few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.