The last sunset of 2013

I started the year with a sunset, and so it seemed appropriate (and fortuitous) to end it with one, as the rest of the day was a bit of a wash-out. I was very glad to see the back of 2012 which was a difficult year in many ways, but 2013 has been so much better that I'm quite sorry to see it pass.

After a long winter and chilly spring it proved to be the best year for wildlife that I can remember, with prolonged displays of spring flowers and huge populations of many butterflies, including species such as small tortoiseshell that were feared to have been severely impacted by the awful summer of 2012. Even the cold weather had its compensations with an irruption of waxwings and winter migrants coming into the garden.

It was also a good year on a personal front, with Alex and Chris both successfully completing their studies, Ben braving his first exam for a while, and me losing over 15 kg in weight, which has been good both for my health and confidence.

I am interested to see what 2014 will bring, especially as the boys are all at stages where anything could happen! So Blippers - a Happy New Year to you all - may it bring good health, love, happiness and plenty of photographic opportunities!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.