What Captures My Interest

By Erikalv

New Years in Downtown LA

Wanted to do something different this New Years so we headed off to the Grand Park in Downtown Los Angeles to celebrate. It was full of life, people from all walks and never ending lines to the food vendors. I tend to get emotional during this time......reaching the end of the book and now given a blank journal to fill in however you choose.

2013 was good to me. Fell in love, moved into a house closer to the city and making more money. It was also a hard year......a lot of adjustment and learning how to be in a relationship, hating my new job and gained some weight. I'm very optimistic and I know 2014 will be good to me but at the same time I ask God to give me the strength and wisdom to handle the "bad" things.

Here is my first picture of 2014.....it's the San Fernando Bldg. It was built in 1906 and was considered one of the finest office buildings in the city. In the 80's and 90's, the area surrounding the San Fernando Building had become part of LA's "skid row." In 2000 it was converted into lofts and though skid row still surrounds the bldg it definitely improved the city. It's a beautiful historical building with so much history.

This city was lost for awhile with all the run down buildings and streets filled with the homeless but tonight there was no denying that the city has new energy. I'll be returning very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.