High & Dry

A bit of a restless night for some reason, so spent a while in the early hours messing around on the iMac, playing sudoku and downloading and listening to music. That upset my normal sleep routine, of course, so it was the middle of the day before I was ready to get out and about.

The weather was dry and bright and the car was back outside the house, so I went for a drive out to Howth, parked near the DART station, and went off for a good long wander. I thought I had a fully charged battery in the camera, but the low-battery warning was flashing by the time I'd fired off sixty or seventy shots of fishing boats and fishermen and seals and strollers and so on.

It wasn't easy choosing a blip from the shortlist of candidates, and this one just might end up being changed. One thing I did notice was how low the sun was, even though it was only between 2.00 and 4.00 when I was out. There's no getting away from the fact that the days are rapidly shortening -- which might be why I eventually plumped for this shot of dry-docked boats to sum up the day, rather than any of the more brightly lit possibilities.

The drive went well (considerably further there and back than yesterday's little trip), although I did feel some chest discomfort by the time I got back home. I don't know whether to take it easy for a bit or to just drive as I normally would and let internal repairs take their own course. Time will tell. It's good to have the car available again, though. Now the only difficulty is being disciplined enough to continue to fit in my daily walk even though the car is sitting outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.