Winter Woods

It was a cold and wintry day. It was snowing in the morning when we got up, and we decided to head up into our local gameland, the Scotia Barrens. My husband wanted to jog, and I would hike up with my camera.

It was snowing heavily when we left, and I wasn't even sure I'd get a chance to use my camera, but I had brought it along anyway. It was carefully tucked in its camera bag under my coat, and I had brought an umbrella along just in case I needed to huddle under it to get a few shots. By the time the storm was done, we would only have about two inches more of fresh snow, but the winds were really making the most of what they had to work with.

When I got to one of my favorite spots in the gamelands, the snow settled down a little bit, and I quickly pulled out my camera, opened the umbrella, huddled under it, and took about a dozen to two dozen shots, of which this was one. The wind was whipping the snow around and conditions for photography were challenging, to say the least. But it was surprisingly wild and wonderful to see the winter woods like this!

The song: Styx, Snowblind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.