horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Village Trike

2nd day back at work and the holiday is starting to wash away, but little positive things to keep ticking over.

First off was meeting Murray Mitchell, the man behind a new business startup, Village Trike, which is essentially an eco-courier service. Using the trike(s) pictured above (and trust me, that box is MASSIVE) they deliver around Edinburgh - bigger items than couriers can normally manage, and without the need for a van (because let's face it, with the roadworks and so on, using a van for deliveries within the city is just daft, and the more big vehicles off the road the nicer a place a city is to be in - just take one look at Copenhagen for the proof of that particular pudding).

Murray was a nice bloke to boot (as was Mud (though a girl), the chocolate lab pup which has done nothing to dampen the desire to have a dog again) who was quite happy to show me into his home with me looking rough in my cycling gear, and round to the lock-up to have a gander at the trikes. All this for the next issue of my website going online this Friday of course.

But if you've got a business, or need things delivered within Edinburgh on a regular basis, you really should check out his site.

And once home I found an email from TV presenter Stefan Gates (Cooking in the Danger Zone; Feasts; Gastronuts) with some rather nice hints and tips after I'd contacted him a few days ago about some TV stuff (again, cycling related). I'm putting into action some of the things I was dreaming up while on holiday...

What is saddening is the fact that very very soon I'm going to need the lights on the bike going both to and from work. But for the riding itself I felt great on the bike tonight - maybe it's the effect already on deciding not to drink this month, though that may be wishful thinking.

Anyway, I can't rabbit on (*sigh of relief*) because I've got that website to work on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.