Not Hot Monkey

Betsy's monkey is called Hot Monkey. You can heat it up in the microwave and Betsy uses it often to put in her many sporting aches and pains and the occasional injury. She also suffers from severe growing pains so uses it then as well.

The other day she had him and - unknown to Chris and I - put him back in the microwave when he was still warm. The result was a very very hot monkey indeed. So hot, he was smouldering and the smell of burnt beans and synthetic fur was quite awful!

She was very upset and though it was a lesson in microwave technology, she didn't really want to part with him. So today, I cut away all the singed fur, and performed major surgery by opening him up and removing the really burnt beans, some of which were black and fused together in a hideous, stinky lump. Anyway, I sewed up his inner bag (that is a medical term) and then patched him with this red and white star fabric which Betsy chose.

I am afraid I don't think he can go in the microwave again, so I've told Betsy that instead of Hot Monkey, she will have to call him Room Temperature Monkey instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.