DanEllwood11

By DanEllwood11

Moving Forward!

Time has gone painfully slow today! Mum and chloe came up again at about 11:30. I don't know how my mum does it. She drives from Blackpool to here (Wythenshawe) everyday and spends all day here. It has definitely helped me.

Spending all day everyday in a hospital room on my own would've driven me crazy. Mum being here has saved my sanity. A lot of the time we don't even talk, I'm either watching Tv or on my computer, mums on her phone. It's not about having to talk to someone constantly, just having someone there is nice.

The doctors came round today. They do something called "Ward Round" where all the doctors, physios and dieticians get together and discuss every single patient.

Before they came in I had to have another x-ray to see what my lung is doing. Results told us that it hasn't moved, it's still half way up but that is with the aid of suction. The doctors said if the lung had been up they would've tried pleurodesis again. Anyway, I told them exactly what I want.. surgery.

They still don't seem too happy about the idea but I told them how I'm feeling. I'm starting to get extremely fed up, frustrated, bored.. I'm starting to struggle if truth be told.

They understood everything and said they are going to chase up the surgeon. I asked, if the surgeon is happy doing my operation when would it happen? He said it'll probably happen Monday or Tuesday... that's 4 or 5 days, if everything goes to plan, I'll finally be on the road to recovery. I could've cried when he said that.

I've been here so long, to hear news that things are finally moving forward and so quickly is brilliant. I'm not sure if the doctor managed to get in contact with the surgeon today but hopefully it'll be confirmed tomorrow.

Bobby Rimmer came down to see me again today. It's crazy having someone like him casually sat on the chair chatting to me. A few weeks back I was using Bobby and Brian Rose as an example in one of my college assignments. Now they've both been to see me and we genuinely get on like friends, like we've known each other for ages, I have to pinch myself sometimes. This is the man who coached Ricky Hatton when he was in his prime.

He brought down some presents for us. A few beanie hats, as seen in the picture and a few T-shirts which was good of him!

So that's it, another day over. Let's see what tomorrow brings...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.