ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Hogmanay Fireworks.

Very grey here all day - M left for work early, and Mum and I just pottered around the house and played a game of Scrabble until it was time for her train. I managed to scrape a win by a whole 7 points :o) M had a half day so drove us both to the station to see Mum off.

We had a highly exciting trip to Aldi for supplies, then home to make dinner for M's sister and her boyfriend. They'd given us a very very generous Christmas present so in return we made some spicy chicken canapes with spring onion and cucumber, then a chicken rogan josh, followed by frangipane-topped mince pies with ice cream. Yum yum!

After we'd eaten, M's other sister and her partner and his parents arrived for Hogmanay drinks. We had a good evening drinking champagne, watching Jools Holland and playing table tennis... Despite me losing every game I played!

As midnight rolled round, we had a good view of all the fireworks going off all over the city. M and I climbed to the top floor of the house and leaned out of the skylight to listen to the ships all sounding their foghorns in the harbour and to smell the gunpowder from all the fireworks. It might not have been the most spectacular display, but to feel the chill in the air while stood inside our house drinking champagne with my new fiance was quite magic!

This year I've rediscovered my love of film photography, had fantastic holidays in Yorkshire, Norway, Cyprus and Austria, M and I are planning to move to the country we love next year, we've settled into our house and made it home, and we've become engaged... Just so much happiness with M, my family and my lovely friends. Raise a glass to what's been and what's to come... 2014 is looking like a good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.