Katy's Wedding

Carole, Ellen and I came to Birmingham on the train this morning. The wedding was at the registry office just down the road from our hotel, the Hyatt. The weather was a bit dodgy and even though the man on the desk said it was easily walkable we persuaded the hotel shuttle bus to shuttle us there. The ceremony was fairly quick...I could take pics as they arrived and as they left the room but not during the ceremony. If I was videoing I could have done the whole ceremony, which I thought was bizarre.

We all were ferried back in taxis to the Hyatt for the reception. Drinks were waiting for us and we partook...it would have been rude not to. The drinks flowed, the canapes were served, the speeches were said, the cake was cut, the cakes was eaten and I kept flashing. Then before we knew it everything was over. Some people moved on to the bar and others disappeared to their rooms. Carole, Ellen and I were hungry so we booked into the restaurant and had a great meal. I then braved the rain and headed outside to take some pics of the new library across the road and the big wheel and the ice rink. It was very cold so I didn't last long.

Carole was shattered so she disappeared off to bed but Ellen and I headed into the bar and sat with Stuart. He had stayed off the beer until he'd given his father of the bride speech but then he had made up for lost drinking time. I'm not sure about all he said as I couldn't hear him for the beer talking, but we had a good laugh. Ellen hit the Baileys and I was on Tia Marias, we had a couple, then a couple more, then a couple more and then headed up to bed. We'd had enough to find it funny to get into the lift with the glass wall and ride all the way to the top and then down again.

It was a good day...except for losing my lens cap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.