Exploits of a Veelager

By KirkCowan

Doing a Grand Job

Left The Veelage today filed with anticipation as we were due a pretty big storm surge, so I headed down to Portpatrick on the Irish Sea coast of Dumfries and Galloway.

A pretty uneventful trip on the journey of twenty odd miles, still plenty of evidence to the amount of trees felled by last weeks storm though and I began to notice the wind from within the car as I approached my destination.

The sight of flashing ambers on an array of vehicles on the seafront was telling me I was not going to be disappointed, took a drive along the harbour front and quickly decided it would not be a good idea to park there so found a safe haven for the car and set of on foot.

I waded my way towards the highest of the car parks on the front as the road was now awash from the waves that were battering off the harbour walls and took my first sight of a boiling sea crashing in off the back of the strong south westerly.The coastguard in attendance was kind enough to offer me some words of warning which to be honest have only sunk in now after hearing some poor youngster is missing at the other end of the country in Plymouth, after setting off in pursuit of some photography by the coast yesterday, there but for the grace of god go I.

Had a few images to choose from for today but this one seemed appropriate and I post it with thanks to all the services involved in providing help to those in need today.

Safely back in The Veelage now and much tea has been consumed.

Piece of video from today here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.