Red Sempervivum

Another Sempervivum, this time all red. It is related to the red-tipped one I blipped a few days ago.This one makes a good contrast in the garden. Most of the day was overcast and flat, but the sun came out late afternoon.

I went to a Farmer's Market. At first I saw only two stalls, but then I noticed another against a high fence, and then another. It was a game of hunt the market stalls as stallholders avoided the gusty nor'wester by tucking themselves into sheltered corners. I bought some free range eggs, a couple of red zinnias, a wild strawberry plant and 250 grams of fresh cherries. The cherries are wonderful- plump and almost black. When I bit into one the claret coloured juice squirted out.

I saw the waxeyes today. At this time of year they keep well out of sight, but I hear them. The couple have at least two chicks. They looked so cute with their ginger heads, pollen from the flax flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.