Zia

By Zia

L'ïlou in Ocean Spray

The island of L'ïlou is one of the smallest islands in Seychelles. Ever since I first saw it I have wanted to photograph it and despite several attempts over the last few years I have failed. Not because it's difficult to reach, as it's close to the main island, Mahè, but because it's almost impossible to find. From afar on the west coast it can be seen but as you get closer you realize it's hidden in a small cove and obviously it's beauty is private and can only be accessed through private homes. Talking to friends on the island I learnt that the best view is from a well know Seychellois family's home and so I approached them, showing them some of my work and they were more than happy to help. So early in the morning at 5.30am I arrived to photograph the island and took with me a large slice of Christmas cake I made recently. They were happy and I got to spend an hour in my own photographing L'ïlou. The main photo will be on my site soon but I couldn't help taking this one - seen through the ocean spray of crashing waves. I think it was a fair deal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.