Life As You Recount It

By gehrett

Lost in Translation

Last night I ventured out of Manchester to Didsbury with my friends Jono and Matt to spend the night at Matt's flat. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the high street is filled with many restaurants dedicated to various foreign cuisines. As is usual in the UK, there were several Indian takeaways, but there was also a Nepalese restaurant, a Japanese place and a few modern bistros. Not typical for a smaller English town/village. However, this place I found quite peculiar only because I have never heard of "Canadian" food. Needless to say, all the menu consisted of was pizza, fried chicken and other typical North American dishes that have the names of Canadian cities preceding their name. After looking up the place online, I learned that there are actually a few franchises in the North of England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.