Happy birthday!

today, I turned a year older (not necessarily wiser). No celebrations plan as it is difficult to plan anything on weekdays. Towards the fag end of the day, my team threw a small cake cutting party in office...and this is what I got for canceling their leave applications :) many were trying to guess my age...some were happy to welcome me into their club...I have always believed that age is just a number...it never comes into someone's way of achieving or doing things in life...but sometimes, when the digit at the ten's place changes, it suddenly seems like a big leap...and this leap does give a jolt...the jolt of not being a kid anymore, the prospect of being into the teens in a couple of years...the jolt of moving out of the teens...the jolt of growing up, maturing...the jolt of not being a youth any more...the jolt of moving into middle age...the jolt of being certified as a senior citizen...so on and so forth...

yes, it is a milestone birthday for me today...but again, even a milestone is a number...so what have I achieved in all these years? have I really lived or have I just survived...it is not time yet to reflect on these questions...I have a long way to go...many moors to tread...

last year this day, I was at the place where I was born...literally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.