Crude backlit setup

"Did you see this portrait shot I took yesterday evening?"

"Yes. Why?"

"I think it's one of my best."

"Oh, is it?"

"I took it after sundown. It was a very cloudy day. You know, flat grey dullness everywhere."

"Then well done. You seem to have got your exposure right."

"Yes, his skin was a little dark, I didn't want to risk overexposing the background. I was wary of his glasses too, since I had almost no option but to use flash."

"But I see no flare on the glasses."

"Yes, I had to handle that, you see. I bounced the flash off the ceiling, and had already metered for the background and... "

"Yes to all that, but he looks so bored. He seems almost asleep waiting for you to finish deciding how to take your shot."

"Yes, but..."

"Give it some time. Don't hang on to this shot. Shoot other things. Time will let you know how good or bad it really is."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.