Eyeing up a Master Work at The Burrell

I'd a rare few hours to myself this afternoon so headed to the Burrell Collection on Glasgow's south side to see its temporary Masters of Impressionism show.

It's been on since last July and closes tomorrow.

I was so glad I made the effort.

I love Degas' pastels and this exhibition of more than 40 pictures from William Burrell's collection contained several, including the one to the left of this couple, called Jockeys in the Rain.

I remember we used to laugh at the way my old art teacher at Kilmarnock Academy, Mrs Downie, said Monet, Manet, Degas as if they were one person.

She instilled in me a deep love and appreciation of their work though.

Such a shame about the 'ingress of water' signs all over the Burrell.

It's a relatively new building too - it opened in 1983.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.