Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Cardiff is still home

There is something very disorientating about spending time in the city in which you were born and grew up. It is, on the one hand, familiar and comforting to be around family in familiar surroundings on the other, every corner of the city resonates with memories that go back decades. Looking back is not healthy but I can't help searching for the smoke filled Scene Club where my friends and I spent many hours on a Saturday night dancing to the live sounds of The Amen Corner, or expect to arrive at that small end of terraced house to be greeted by one of my mother's famous cooked dinners. I am reminded of that quote. "All change is loss, all loss is change."
The above picture is of one of Cardiff's most popular open spaces, Roath Park, which has remained pretty constant since it was opened in 1898.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.