Theleens

By Theleens

Kay's Bar

How could I have never known about this bar during the whole two years I was working in the neighbourhood?

I went to see my old work crowd late this afternoon. It was like I had never gone away. Clearly I had, and they've moved forward, but for an hour it was wonderful seeing them again and having a good old chat. After work, Colin suggested going for a drink to Kay's and then he'd drop me off at The Steamie, the open mic venue. So, after hugs a plenty amongst my old playmates, he and I traipsed off down the street. Within a fee minutes we turned a corner and, lo and behold, my eyes came upon a liquid oasis which looked extremely inviting. Kay's Bar looks like it was a house until someone had the foresight to convert it. Once inside the door entrance, the same can be said. It's a very cosy pub: real coal fire, heavily varnished vats dressing the length of a red velvet bench that faces four small round tables healthily spread out.

I loved the brew, the atmosphere and the company, which all finished too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.