Trial and Error

By DawnC

Out and About

A thoroughly enjoyable walk this morning – it seemed that anyone who was anyone was enjoying the break in the weather over Iron Hill. It took twice as long to get round as usual due to everyone being in a chatty mood and there was a disproportionate number of pairs of dogs: Greyhounds, Mini Schnauzers, Border Collies, and so on, and a cute little toddler girl who instantly fell for Basil’s charms and wanted to take him home.

This isn’t a great or even a good picture, I'm afraid, (because it was taken by stealth…) but this is a nice gentleman we’ve met before who also has two Westies. One, called Molly, is old and arthritic and can no longer walk very far and so he pushes her round in the pushchair while the other walks alongside. They stop every so often to let Molly get out and have a bit of a sniff around (or a sit on the ground as she’s doing here). I think it’s a lovely way of giving a dog quality of life they might not otherwise have and I fully expect to be getting one of these off-road pushchairs in due course for Basil/Polly (something the kids never actually had because they were too expensive!).

PS – Many thanks to those who had a little look at my linked-to blog yesterday. I’m going to make a few refinements to it and I’m looking forward to adding to it each week as I get out on my visits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.