Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Enough about the flooding

I won't mention the weather...But it does seem to be foremost on everyone's mind and all I see is the flooding around me. So I won't talk about it but just show you yet another shot of a flooded field next to the river.

The movie we saw yesterday, Long Walk to Freedom, was brilliant. I see the Sunday Times only gave it a 2 star rating but it was wonderful for me to see some history that I have lived through. As far as I could tell it was 100% accurate, based exactly as Mandela told it in his book which was all true. I noticed some people walking out when there were violent scenes of Winnie Mandela necklacing people she thought were not loyal enough to her cause, but it actually happened like that.

There is a scene in the movie when this young firebrand arrives at Robben Island and criticises Mandela, who by now is getting on in years, for being too placid as he tends to his tomatoes. Mandela asks him his name and he answers Patrick Lekota. My boys were surprised to hear that Gavin and I had dinner with Patrick Lekota (years later) when he was Minister of Defense - a dinner in a private home when he was there with his mistress, and his wife kept phoning to see where he was!
He is known as Terror Lekota, and I always thought it was from all the people he had terrorised, but apparently it refers to his prowess on the football pitch.

Enough reminiscing, but I can recommend the movie. Idris Elba is superb in his role as Mandela, he almost gets the accent and slow manner of speaking just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.