The banana plant is ok, and life goes on

It was back to the grindstone for some, although not for me. I don't have a set pattern of working, or playing. This week though will be a hard one, with lots of voluntary activity again both for the council and personal issues.

I thought I would try to find a link relating in some minor way to a thousand, but have failed miserably. I then set my camera up with '1000' settings on both the ISO and the shutter speed and took hopeless pictures, which were virtually totally dark, so that was rejected.

Then I went to the garden to see if a picture came to me, and all I saw was the broken fence panels ruined by the winds, but that looked particularly bleak. While I was on the patio, I checked the cabin and as I entered it the sun shone through the windows, and I perked up at the thought that I might at least find some vivid colours on this rather bleak Monday.

This banana plant was a present from Pip (he has grown them in his garden for years) earlier in the year and I should have planted it in the garden. But I couldn't select the right spot at the right time, and instead put it in a big pot. Before the first frosts of the autumn I rescued it from its outdoor position to bring it into the cabin which is well insulated and occasionally heated. Today it looked as if it was flourishing, and it cheered me up to see its big fronds being warmed by the sun, so I've blipped it for posterity.

Soon after, I returned indoors, shut the door and then immediately saw a woodpecker on the peanut feeder, but couldn't get a good shot through the double-glazed window of the dining-room. I opened the door but even that noise scared it into flying away into the tree at the end of the garden. However, it was very cheering to see it, and it even returned briefly for another minute or two some minutes later. I know I have my very own blip pal, Woodpeckers, but there is nothing like the real thing, and Helena will be pleased to hear one has returned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.